Steve Hamilton

Books in Order


Steve Hamilton Books in OrderName: Steven Hamilton
Born: 10 January, 1961
Place of birth: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Resides: Upstate New York, USA
First book: A cold Day in Paradise
Previous employment: technical writer
Fun fact #1: Steve is one of only two writers to ever win both the Edgar Award for Best First Novel and the Award for Best Novel.
Fun fact #2: He wrote a dozen novels while holding down a full-time job at IBM.
Awards (not an exhaustive list):

  • Edgar Award.
  • Shamus Award.

Steve Hamilton Book List & Suggested Book Order

Steve Hamilton Books in Order
Get a book with all the info below, plus a full biography, extra series details, page counts, star ratings, checklist, alternative titles, fun facts, etc.






Alex McKnight Books in Order
A Cold Day in ParadiseAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Winter of the Wolf MoonAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The Hunting WindAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
North of NowhereAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Blood is the SkyAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Ice RunAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
A Stolen SeasonAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Beneath the Book TowerAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Misery BayAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Die a StrangerAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Let It BurnAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Dead Man RunningAmazon USUKCAAU


KoboB & N
Nick Mason Books in Order
The Second Life of Nick MasonAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Exit StrategyAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
An Honorable AssassinAmazon USUKCAAU




Fox and O'Hare Books in Order
The BountyAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Standalone Novels
Night WorkAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The Lock ArtistAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Short Works
The SilenceAmazon USUKCAAU



B & N
A Shovel With My Name On ItAmazon USUKCAAU



B & N
Room for a FourthAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
One Fast PackardAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
A Different Kind of HealingAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Nonfiction Books
The First TimeAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N

Steve Hamilton Interview

Creator of the Alex McKnight series and the new Nick Mason series, author Steve Hamilton talks about the heroes of those books, about his writing process, and from where he gets his inspiration.

Steve Hamilton Biography

Steve Hamilton was born on the 10th of January in 1961, which was a Tuesday. For readers interested in all things astrological, that makes him a Capricorn, which is one of the Earth signs.

Steve was born in Detroit, a city with approaching three quarters of million residents (over three million in the metro area) and which is located in Michigan, a state in the United States of America which nestles among the Great Lakes and is most well known for its car production and wealth of music that it has given the world (Mowtown anyone?).

Very little is known about Steve’s early life. We first catch up with Steve when he’s a student at Milford High School, a school with around 1,500 pupils and which is located just 40 miles away from Detroit in the town of Milford which has around 6,000 residents. It was here that his writing career started. Kind of. His first attempt to write fiction ended with failure when a mystery story he wrote was rejected by Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine. He was just 12 years old at the time.

On leaving high school, Steve decided to further his education so enrolled at the University of Michigan, an institution with a student body of around 19,000 and is located in Ann Arbor, just 31 miles from Milford. At university, Steve wanted to study English because he had a dream of becoming a writer. However, that wasn’t possible because his father was paying his tuition fees and he insisted Steve took…

To continue reading, get the full 1000-word biography in Steve Hamilton Books In Order.

If you love Steve Hamilton’s books you need the most comprehensive book list available, which includes a check list, alternative titles, page counts, movie adaptations, co-authors, star ratings, and a host of other features, plus:

  • Alex McKnight series in order
  • Alex McKnight short stories in order
  • Nick Mason books in order
  • a complete list of short stories & standalone novels

Get Steve Hamilton Books In Order.

Why Read the Steve Hamilton Alex McKnight Series in Order?

Steve comes from Detroit, Michigan, USA and now lives in Upstate New York. His main series is the Alex McKnight books, which chronicles the exploits of a former Detroit cop.

His newest venture is the Nick Mason series. Any music aficionados will instantly recognize that name as belonging to the drummer of rock giants Pink Floyd. Having seen the last ever proper gig Floyd played, (Earl’s Court, London, 1981), I couldn’t resist quizzing Steve on his unusual choice of name – Steve said it was pure coincidence and had never dawned on him until someone had pointed it out.

This Steve Hamilton book list not only gives all the Steve Hamilton books in chronological order, but will let you see the characters develop and witness events at the correct time, just as Steve intended.

So, if you're searching for the Steve Hamilton book order, or if you love private investigator fiction and are wanting a list of the Alex McKnight novels in order, look no further.

(Visited 1,552 times, 3 visits today)