Robert Crais

Books in Order


Robert Crais Books in OrderName: Robert Crais
Born: 20 June, 1953
Place of birth: Independence, Louisiana, USA
Resides: the Santa Monica mountains, USA
First book: The Monkey's Raincoat
Previous employment: script writer
Fun fact #1: Robert worked on TV scripts for shows such as Miami Vice; Quincy, M.E.; Hill Street Blues; and Cagney & Lacey.
Fun fact #2: His love of writing started after he bought a secondhand copy of The Little Sister by Raymond Chandler.
Awards (not an exhaustive list):

  • Barry Award
  • Macavity Award
  • Shamus Award

Robert Crais Book List & Suggested Book Order

Robert Crais Books in Order
Get a book with all the info below, plus a full biography, extra series details, page counts, star ratings, checklist, alternative titles, fun facts, etc.


Amazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Books in Order
The Monkey's RaincoatAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Stalking the AngelAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Lullaby TownAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Free FallAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Voodoo RiverAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Sunset ExpressAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Indigo SlamAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
L.A. RequiemAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The Last DetectiveAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The Forgotten ManAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The WatchmanAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Chasing DarknessAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The First RuleAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The SentryAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
TakenAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The PromiseAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The WantedAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
A Dangerous ManAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Racing the LightAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N

Scott James and Maggie Books in Order
SuspectAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The PromiseAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Standalone Novels
Demolition AngelAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
HostageAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
The Two Minute RuleAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Short Works
With Crooked HandsAmazon US






B & N
The Dust of EveningAmazon USUK






The Man Who Knew Dick BongAmazon USUKCAAU



B & N
The Best American Mystery Stories Vol 16Amazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N
Nonfiction Books
The LineupAmazon USUKCAAUiBooksKoboB & N

Robert Crais Biography

Robert Crais was born on the 20th of June in 1953, which was a Saturday. For those readers interested in all thing astrological, that makes him a Gemini, which is one of the Air signs.

Robert was born in Independence, a very small town of fewer than 2,000 people, in Louisiana, which is a state in the far south of the United States of America, on the Gulf of Mexico. (Picture the bottom of the USA and that bit that joins the dangly bit that is Florida to the other bit that goes to South America – right in the middle, is Louisiana with Independence almost marking the exact halfway point.)

Robert comes from a working class background – his father, like many members of his extended family, worked at an oil refinery owned by Esso, which derived its name from the first letters of its earlier name of Standard Oil Company (S and O became Esso), but which is now known as Exxon. Other family members worked in law enforcement.

Growing up on the banks of the mighty Mississippi River, even as a boy, Robert liked to create stories – he wrote comic books and produced homemade movies with his friends.

When he was 13 years old, he spent a short time working in a circus…

To continue reading, get the full 1000-word biography in Robert Crais Books in Order.

If you love Robert Crais’s books you need the most comprehensive book list available, which includes a check list, alternative titles, page counts, movie adaptations, co-authors, star ratings, and a host of other features, plus:

  • Elvis Cole and Joe Pike series in order
  • a complete list of short stories & standalone novels
  • a complete list of nonfiction

Get Robert Crais Books in Order.

Robert Crais Interview

Author Robert Crais jokes about his writing ambitions and then goes on to discuss his decision to move to Hollywood, how his first attempts at novels failed, and how he finally cracked how to write, which led him to pen the Elvis Cole and Joe Pike series.

Why Read the Robert Crais Elvis Cole Series in Order?

From his writing hideaway in the Santa Monica mountains, a coastal range in Southern California in the USA, Robert Crais brings his Elvis Cole and Joe Pike books to life. And aren't his millions of loyal readers overjoyed at that. So happy in fact that many readers emulate the characters by sporting Joe Pike tattoos! (In case you haven't yet read the series, and to save you having to google that phrase, a Joe Pike tattoo is a red forward-pointing arrow on the upper arm.)

Strangely, it was only after turning his back on a career writing TV scripts in Los Angeles that Robert began writing novels, yet today he has umpteen New York Times best sellers and millions of copies of his books are bought around the world.

This Robert Crais book list not only gives all the Robert Crais books in chronological order, but will let you see the characters develop and witness events at the correct time, just as Robert intended.

So, if you've been struggling to find a Robert Crais book order, or a list of the Elvis Cole novels in order, your struggle is over!

(Visited 9,915 times, 3 visits today)